Confessions of a She-Geek

July 29, 2013

Back in the Saddle Again…

Filed under: Faith and Religion — Teresa @ 10:41 pm
Tags:

It’s been a long, long time since I’ve posted anything to this blog – mainly because I didn’t have much to say. At least, not much that I thought anyone else would find all that interesting. But during that time I’d been struggling my way through a crisis of faith that eventually led me to a new church (Open Source – here’s the Facebook page) and an in-depth study of The Life of Saint Teresa of Avila by Herself.

For those who may not be familiar with her, Saint Teresa of Avila was a Carmelite nun in 16th-century Spain. She was, to say the least, a deeply spiritual woman with a knack for explaining complex, abstract theological concepts in surprisingly practical ways. Pressed by the head of her order into writing her autobiography, Teresa used it as an opportunity to discuss the nature of faith, prayer, and what it actually means to pray.

This book is not one to be rushed through, and does not contain any easy answers. It requires a great deal of thought, reflection, and personal examination. So I’ve been studying this book, and have found that half-formed thoughts which had previously wandered aimlessly through my mind, are finally making sense because Teresa of Avila articulates the concepts in a way that makes sense to me.

As part of my study, I’ve been journaling in order to pull some of these thoughts together. When during one of the book study discussions I shared some of what I’d written, my pastor asked me to turn two of my journal entries into short articles for future newsletters. Which brings me back to my blog. If I’m going to be writing articles based on journal entries, I already have the perfect place, all set up and ready to go. An added bonus is that entries can just be linked to, rather than re-printed in their entirety.

Now for the disclaimer. I do not claim to be a theologian or a biblical scholar. I have never attended seminary and frankly have no ambition to do so. I am not trying to present myself as an expert of any sort. All this will be is my thoughts about, and reactions to, this book that I’ve been reading (once an English major; always an English major). I’m fascinated by The Life of Saint Teresa and want to share some of what I’ve been learning.

If anyone finds any of these blog entries in any way beneficial, I’m glad. If they help generate interest in Teresa of Avila’s writings, even better.

If not, just keep in mind that this is (in the immortal words of The Dude) just, like, my opinion, man.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

